Please visit our COVID-19 Resources page for useful payroll and reference information. During this time, when many companies are forced to telework, AccountEdge Hosted may be a good option. Host your company file to be accessed remotely from any device, for as long as you need. You can go back to your regular setup when you no longer need remote accessibility. If you’d like to discuss that or any other teleworking solution with a product specialist, please call 800.322.6962. Be safe.

  • Section: AccountEdge Pro (for macOS 10.15 and higher)
  • Last updated: Dec. 9, 2020, 4:45 p.m.

AccountEdge is in Read-Only

Read-Only Preference was Set

If the read-only preference was checked off manually, you can go to Setup > Preferences > Security and uncheck this option.

Note: If this checkbox is disabled, this means that your AccountEdge Subscription has expired or is no longer active.

AccountEdge Subscription Expired

AccountEdge Pro (for macOS 10.15 and higher) will revert to read-only mode if your AccountEdge subscription expires past the grace period. The read-only setting cannot be removed until you update or reactivate your AccountEdge subscription.

To check your AccountEdge subscription:

  • Open AccountEdge
  • Go to the Help menu
  • Select Registration
  • Click Log In

Double-Clicked the Company File to Open

We are aware of an issue with AccountEdge Pro (for macOS 10.15 and higher) going into read-only when double clicking the Company File to open the software. As we work to resolve this, you will need to open AccountEdge first then open your Company File through the Open or Browse option.

If AccountEdge Pro (for macOS 10.15 and higher) went into read-only because of this:

  • Go to the Help menu
  • Select Registration
  • Click Renew

This will update your license with your current subscription settings and remove the read-only restriction.