We have a version of AccountEdge Pro that works on Catalina and Big Sur (and Apple M1 chips) without requiring a virtual machine. Learn More.

Please visit our COVID-19 Resources page for useful payroll and reference information. If you are teleworking, check out Working Remotely with AccountEdge.

  • Section: Accounts
  • Last updated: July 17, 2019, 11:35 a.m.

Delete an Account

The following criteria must be met in order to delete an account:

  • The account is not a Level 1 account (i.e.: 1-0000, 2-0000, 3-0000, etc)
  • The account has a zero balance
  • The account has not had transactions posted to it in the past six fiscal years
  • The account does not have any recurring transactions referencing it
  • The account is not linked to any transaction
  • The account is not referenced as a linked account in:
    • Setup > Linked Accounts
    • Activities
    • Business Services (Direct Deposit/Vendor Payment Setup)
    • Card File Cards (Customer, Vendor)
    • Inventory Items
    • Multi-currencies
    • Payroll Categories (Wages, Accruals, Deductions, Expenses, Taxes)
    • Retainers
    • Sales Tax Codes

To remove an account that fits the above criteria:

  1. Make a backup of the company file
  2. Highlight the account in the Accounts List window, then click the Edit button. The Edit Accounts window appears, containing information about the account
  3. Under the Edit menu in the top tool-bar, click Delete Account to remove the account

Notes

An account can be combined if it cannot otherwise be deleted. See Combine Accounts for details.

For information on purging old transactions to help in deleting an account see Purging Information.