Delete a Transaction
When you delete a transaction, it is permanently removed from your records.
In general to delete a transaction you will open the transaction and then go to the top menu bar and select Edit > Delete.
Sales and purchases
You can only delete a sale or purchase that does not have a payment applied to it. If you have recorded a payment for a sale or purchase, you must first delete the payment and then delete the transaction. Any early payment discounts that have been given must also be deleted before the transaction can be deleted.
If you applied a vendor debit towards a purchase, you must delete the debit before you can delete the purchase. A credit note applied to a sale must also be deleted before the sale can be deleted.
Group Receipts in the undeposited funds account
If you want to delete an individual receipt that was recorded as part of a bank deposit of receipts grouped in the undeposited funds account, you must first delete the bank deposit. When you delete a bank deposit, all the cash receipts included in the bank deposit are returned to the Prepare Bank Deposit window. You can then delete the required receipt from this window.
If you delete a reconciled transaction, your bank reconciliation will be out of balance. Reconciled transactions should be reversed. See Reversing a transaction
Insufficient on-hand item quantities
You cannot delete a purchase if it will result in a negative on-hand inventory count.
Credit card payment transactions that have been authorized using the Merchant Account Service can only be reversed or voided. If an authorized transaction is voided, the transaction is automatically deleted as part of the voiding process.
In a situation where you are unable to delete a transaction the delete option may be replaced with an option to Reverse the transaction. Reversing a transaction will keep the original transaction in place and then record a reversing transaction which records the opposite of the original transaction. For example if you wrote a Spend Money check to spend money from your bank account, the reversing transaction will put the money back in your bank account.
To reverse a transaction and go to your top menu bar and select Edit > Reverse Transaction.
Note: If you only see the option to Delete and not Reverse but would prefer to Reverse the transaction go to your top menu bar and select Setup > Preferences > Security and check off Transactions Can't be Changed; They Must be Reversed.
Check the AccountEdge Help files for information on