• Section: General
  • Last updated: June 7, 2019, 3:31 p.m.

Move AccountEdge to New Machine

Background

Before moving to a new computer you will be required to deactivate the license from the prior machine. Deactivating the license (Machine ID) frees up a new computer to be registered.

  • To deactivate the license on AccountEdge Pro/Basic for Mac click 'AccountEdge' at the top menu bar and select 'Registration' in the drop down. From there you'll see the option to deactivate the license.
  • To deactivate the license on AccountEdge Pro/Basic for Windows click 'Help' at the top menu bar and select 'Registration' in the drop down. From there you'll see the option to deactivate the license.
  • In the event that your computer crashes or you’re no longer in possession of that computer you will need to contact the Customer Service Department at 1-800-322-6962 for assistance with deactivating the license.

Download

To obtain a download link for AccountEdge to install on the new machine you will need to login to: www.accountedge.com and click ‘login.’

You’ll be asked to enter in your email address and password.

Click on ‘My Account:’ from there you’ll be given an option to ‘Re-Download.’

NOTE FOR MAC USERS: When moving to a new computer it is recommended that you ‘Do Not’ use the Apple migration assistant because it copies the Plist file from the prior machine – when doing this it will cause AccountEdge to crash upon launching. We recommend that you do a fresh install.

Moving AccountEdge Pro to a New machine

To move AccountEdge Pro to a new machine:
  1. Create a backup of your company file(s): Select Backup All Data
  2. Deactivate AccountEdge
  3. Close out of AccountEdge on this machine
  4. Using a jump drive or external hard drive, copy the backup just created onto it
  5. Download and Install AccountEdge
  6. On the new machine insert the jump drive or external hard drive and copy the backup file to this computer
  7. Open AccountEdge and Register it:
    • Mac: Select AccountEdge Pro in the top toolbar > Registration > Fill in all information > Register
    • Windows: Select Help in the top toolbar > Registration > Fill in all information > Register
  8. Restore your data from the backup
  9. Once restored you will be able to open your data file clicking browse in AccountEdge and going to the location of the file

Moving AccountEdge Network Edition to a New Machine

NOTE: If you are not changing hosts - you are just adding or replacing a workstation - all you need to do is deregister the old computer (if there is one) and then Install AccountEdge Network Edition on the new machine.

To change host machines on AccountEdge Network Edition:
  1. Create a backup of your company file(s): Select Backup All Data
  2. Have all users close out of AccountEdge Network Edition
  3. If the current host is not going to be used as a workstation you can Deactivate AccountEdge
  4. Close AccountEdge Network Edition
  5. Turn off FileConnect
    1. Close AccountEdge Network Edition
    2. Click the apple icon in the top left corner of the screen
    3. Select System Preferences
    4. In System Preferences there will be an AccountEdge icon in the last row
    5. Click the icon
    6. Click Stop FileConnect and close the System Preferences window
  6. Using a jump drive or external hard drive, copy the backup just created onto it
  7. Download and Install AccountEdge
  8. Once installed, register AccountEdge Network Edition:
    • Select AccountEdge NE in the top toolbar > Registration > Fill in all information > Register
  9. Turn on FileConnect:
    1. Close AccountEdge Network Edition
    2. Click the apple icon in the top left corner of the screen
    3. Select System Preferences
    4. In System Preferences there will be an AccountEdge icon in the last row
    5. Click the icon
    6. Click Start FileConnect and close the System Preferences window
  10. Open AccountEdge Network Edition
  11. Insert the jump drive or external hard drive and copy the backup file to this computer
  12. Restore your data from the backup file
  13. Once the file is restored the file has to be placed in the Databases folder:
    • Path to Databases folder: Macintosh HD > Library > Application Support > AccountEdge NE > Databases
  14. Go back to AccountEdge Network Edition and click Browse
  15. You will now see the new machine in the left column that says Host
  16. Select the host and then select the data file on the right side and click Open

Moving Custom Forms

When moving AccountEdge to a new computer, custom forms, reports, spreadsheets, graphics, or letters have to be copied over to the new computer as well. Selecting Backup All Data will also create backups of custom forms, reports, spreadsheets, graphics, and letters. When an AccountEdge company file is opened for the first time, a folder, called AccountEdge Pro/NE (year), is created in the Documents folder on your hard drive. This folders sub folders include:

  • Custom Forms
  • Custom Reports
  • Graphics
  • Letters
  • Spreadsheets

Copying custom forms to new machine:
  1. Open the folder containing the backup of the data file.
    • If you selected Backup All Data when backing up you will a custom forms folder as well as the others listed above.
  2. Open the custom forms folder and copy the forms in this folder.
  3. Open the AccountEdge Pro/NE (year) folder in the Documents folder
  4. Once in the AccountEdge Pro/NE (year) folder open the Custom Forms folder
  5. Paste the custom forms

The same process can be completed to move custom reports, graphics, letters, and spreadsheets. Paste each into there corresponding folder.

Tips/Issues Moving AccountEdge to a New Machine

If you need to move attached documents please see this article.

If you are upgrading to a newer version of AccountEdge at the same time - you can follow the instructions in this article to upgrade your data.

The following articles can be helpful in solving problems after the move: